The office work runs slow and unexciting
The minutes morph to hour after noon
I haven’t had a hit since early morning
My stomach churns – I must have something soon.

The cravings crawl up through my spine
I tell myself I’m doing fine
My fingers twitch and typos fill the screen.
The symptoms there – I know them all
It’s clear I’m going through withdrawl
I tear the bag, and shamelessly dig in.

Addictive habits are with hazards fraught
In trouble you are only if you’re caught.

At home the shrills of progeny engulf me
The dinner’s cooked, the meal drags on and on
I’m eating one thing, yearning for another
That dark and undiluted richness on my tongue.

I stumble right through Seasame Street
And rush through Bluebeard’s great defeat
My kids suspect me, I edge towards the door.
As I’m my bathroom stash consuming
My son yells, “Mom, what are you doing?”
“I thought that, um, I just might wash the floor…”

Addictive habits are with hazards fraught
In trouble you are only if you’re caught.

At night we sit and watch a film together
I wonder if he’s noticed something strange
I should just quit, and part with it forever
Addictive habits are so hard to change.

He starts to nod, I steal away
Just one last bite, it’s been a day
The peanuts crunch, I wonder if he knows.
I finish up, the bag is trash
Back to the room I stealthily dash
He grins, “You’ve got some chocolate on your nose.”

Addictive habits are with hazards fraught
In trouble you are only if you’re caught.

